>Petai Mat Saleh

>

Orang M’sia selalu associate petai dengan smelly urine or air kencing berbau. I tak sangkan lah yang Mat Saleh ni pun actually ada equivalent vegetable yang meng ‘smelly’ kan urine macam petai ni. Selama2 I makan vege ni, I tak pernah terperasan (or maybe I tak associate that vege with smelly urine so bila the urine smells lain macam, I thought it’s because of something else, hehehe).

Until The Other Half complained yang he loves eating this vege except for what it does to his urine. I pun pelik lah, pastu I cakap dengan dia yang selama2 ni I makan, takde pun bau apa2. Pastu dia kata, next time I makan this sayur, just smell the toilet bowl after I pee, t tell him again if it smells or not, hehehe.

Pastu I pun buatlah experiment (just to prove him wrong Winking smile), but unfortunately, it was me that was proven wrong, hehehe. Memang out of a sudden, baru lah I perasan yang air kencing memang akan berbau selepas makan this vege.

Nak tau apa vege yang ala2 petai ni?

IMG_5593

IMG_5598

Asparagus!

We had grilled asparagus, BBQed sausages and pasta salad malam tadi so the toilet really stinks! hikhikhikhik….

Betul you, I baru aje tau yang bila makan asparagus, our urine will smell, hehehe.

But The other Half said to me tadi, “For me, petai doesn’t really make your pee smell!” takpe, next time I masak petai, I suruh dia smell the toilet bowl pulak! Wakakakaka…

Malam ni pulak nya, we all makan pasta lagi even though last night dah makan pasta. I made beef ragu for dinner and ingat nak makan dengan polenta but bila selongkar pantry, couldn’t find polenta so kenalah makan dengan pasta.

IMG_5602

IMG_5608

Ragu ni lebih kurang bolognese sauce lah but cuma guna tomato paste only for the red colour and guna fresh milk and apple juice(to replace wine in the original recipe) in the sauce. Rasa dia lain sikit dari sauce yang guna canned diced tomato or bottled pasta sauce ni. We think it’s a bit richer in flavour. But definitely takde rasa susu! hehehe.

Ini my version of the beef ragu recipe:

Ingredients:

1 small brown onion, diced finely
2 cloves garlic, diced finely
1 carrot, diced finely
1 celery, diced finely
500g beef mince
1/2 cup apple juice (unsweetened/no added sugar)
4 tbsp tomato paste
3/4 cup milk (I guna low fat)
salt and pepper to taste

Methods:

-heat 1 tbsp olive oil in a  frying pan. Sautee onions, garlic, carrot and celery for 3-4 minutess on medium heat until cooked.
-add beef mince and break any lump up and cook until all brown.
-reduce heat to low and add apple juice to the pan. Let it cook until all the apple juice have been reduced.
-add tomato paste and stir until well combined.
-add milk and let it simmer for about 15-20 minutes until reduced. Don’t disturb it.
– Then add salt (or if you like, chicken stock granules) and pepper to taste.
-You can serve it with pasta, frech bread or sourdough bread or polenta.

Leave a Reply

